The Love Of God

“The love of God is greater far Than tongue or pen can ever tell;

It goes beyond the highest star, And reaches to the lowest hell;

The guilty pair, bowed down with care, God gave His Son to win;

His erring child He reconciled, And pardoned from his sin.”

(lyrics  by: Frederick M. Lehman)

Love is one among the most pronounced human emotions. Love cannot be seen, it is intangible; yet there are endless manifestations of human love. Love does not need words or language; the language of love is script less, yet human love is a failed love. It is corrupted through sin – our love is based on many conditions (mood swings, feelings, meeting certain demands, past hurts, worry). If any conditions are not met our love might go withered. Whereas the love of God, is an attribute of God; we cannot see God minus his love; it is an ever present character of God. The word of God says, God is love. Through out the word of God we could see God’s love towards men; it thrills me when I think, the subject of God’s love is you and me. God never mentioned He loves any of the beautiful star or heavenly angels He made, instead He lavished His love upon us, by giving His only begotten Son. God’s love gravitates us towards Him, we are made to be loved by God. 1 John 4:10 In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins”.  The best expression of God’s love is the sacrificial love at the cross of Calvary. Bible says, “Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends”, John 15:13. This is the kind of love Jesus poured out for us at cross; there is nothing greater or better than the love of Jesus. If you are in a quest for true love, I bet none of the human relationships could satisfy you. Nothing could stand a chance before the selfless love outflowing from the cross.

   At the cross, we see our Savior, wounded, rejected and despised; He took the burden of human sin in perfect obedience to the Father, counting the many benefit we gain through His sacrifice. He took the shame at the cross to save me from eternal condemnation. The rejection He bore from His own people, whom He served all the years of His ministry, pierced His soul much more deeper than the pain, the nails of Roman soldiers did to His torn body. When they shouted and howled “crucify him”, the hatred, scorn, mocking all despised the darling of heaven- yet He went through it all in perfect obedience so that I am accepted by the Father.The love at the cross became without form and charm, the author of beauty, became without any comeliness – He suffered it so that, I see the beauty of heaven, the beauty of God’s love. Jesus, chose to become in the form of a servant  than choosing to be with the Father God and the riches of heaven. Heaven emptied out its very best at the cross, the first fruit of all creation, having you and me in mind.  For making us a chosen generation to love the Father with a pure heart of gratitude. At the cross my worthlessness was not an issue, but heaven believes in me the undeserved sinner, meritless  and bloated out all my transgressions, when the love of Christ imbibed within me.  Jesus became the perfect atonement for me so that I could wear the robe of righteousness. He suffered all this so I stand blameless, holy and without reproach in the presence of God, the Father.

       Jesus was tormented, beaten and abused to death, He took every form of affliction having in mind, my peaceful future in Him; He took it because I won’t suffer death but have life everlasting. He took the pain knowing that I would be healed from all my bodily sickness. The wonderful price Christ  Paid for me shows that I am precious in His sight and I am made worthy to call God my Father. He opened the doors of heavenly riches into my life. While going through the afflictions towards the cross, Jesus had you and me in His mind, the purpose for us, the future He planned for us. How could we ever ignore this greatest act of love? Let’s embrace our Savior’s love at the cross and ask God to fill our heart with this overflowing love of Jesus. If you have not invited this true love into your life; be assured that there is nothing that fills in the void that perfectly fits our heart, the love of our maker. Because we are created with the very purpose, to be loved by God…

In Him,
Smitha Thomas.
Redeemed Ministries.

Leave a comment